What is Japanese Tamari Sauce? – The Fine Market
What is Japanese Tamari Sauce?

What is Japanese Tamari Sauce?

A lot of people have either not heard of Tamari or assume, incorrectly, that it is simply Gluten-Free Soy Sauce.

Alas, it is gluten-free but it is not just a simple soy sauce. Both sauces are a byproduct of fermented soybeans however Tamari tends to be strictly Japanese and does not contain any wheat in its recipe (although we strongly suggest you double check the ingredients every time if you have a gluten allergy). 

Tamari has a stronger color and richer flavor than the usual soy sauce. It is also less salty and has a much more balanced flavor profile. It is a great dipping sauce for many dishes. 

Tamari also differs in its making from soy sauce by actually being a byproduct of making miso paste instead of cooking soy beans with roasted wheat (like soy sauce). 


Unfortunately soy is one of the most common GMO crops in the world and it behooves all of us, trying to eat and nurture our body well and as naturally as possible, to buy organic when it comes to soy products, like Tamari sauce. 



Besides actually buying some Tamari, which is always great to have in the pantry, The Fine Market has a Nori and Tamari snack great for munching on which allows you to get the subtle and delicious flavor of this sauce along with a salty and nutritious iodine. (Click on the image to take you to the item - if still available) 


Leave a comment